Workplace Bullying Institute’s DVD for targets

If you’ve been a target of workplace bullying or know someone who has been enduring this form of abuse, I highly recommend the Workplace Bullying Institute’s new DVD, Help for Bullied Targets from WBI.

This is an insightful, supportive, and frank 90-minute presentation of information, guidance, and advice that complements Gary and Ruth Namie’s groundbreaking book, The Bully at Work (2d ed., 2009). At $43 including shipping, it’s also affordable.

Before I go on, let me issue my standard disclaimer: I’ve been working with WBI and the Namies for over a decade on a pro bono basis. Although I don’t have any financial stake in this DVD, I’m too close to them to call this an impartial review.

Contents

The DVD includes the following chapters:

  • Could this be happening? Why me?
  • Getting help from professionals & family
  • Fighting back safely
  • Seeking justice from our legal system
  • Living in your post-bullying world

Of course, Gary and Ruth Namie figure prominently in the video. But also featured are Jessi Eden Brown, a licensed therapist and WBI’s coach for bullying targets, and Sean Lunsford, a consultant who joined the staff in 2011.

My impressions

I asked to see the video before writing this blog post, and as I watched, I realized it would help a lot of people. In fact, right after I finished, I ordered a copy for a friend.

I found several segments of Help for Bullied Targets from WBI especially helpful:

  • Dealing with reactions and responses from co-workers, family, and friends
  • What qualifications to look for in a therapist, and what questions to ask of a prospective therapist.
  • The realities of bringing a legal claim
  • Working through one’s emotions and planning for the long term

This is WBI’s first take at producing a DVD to help targets, so don’t expect a PBS-quality production. Putting on my lawyer hat, I think there’s still more that can be said about legal and employee benefit options. That said, this is the next best thing to having a knowledgeable personal coach or therapist. It captures years of accumulated research, experience, and wisdom gained from coaching and interviewing workplace bullying targets.

Go here for more information and ordering details.

Leave a Reply

