Summertime and the livin’ is busy

Although it’s a mistaken belief that most professors have “summers off,” the welcomed flexibility of the job is especially present during this time of the year. For those of us with active programs of scholarship, the summer months typically yield the biggest chunks of concentrated time to engage in research and writing.

I’m working on a couple of writing projects this summer, including a law review article that expands upon my ideas about the linkages between theory, research, and social action, informed considerably by my ongoing work on workplace bullying, worker dignity, and unpaid internships. I’ve also got several out-of-town speaking appearances.

In addition, I’m completing an in-depth training course in personal and organizational coaching, the benefits of which will complement the work I’ve been doing on employee relations from a law & policy angle. I’ll have more to say about this during the months to come.

Consequently, I may be blogging slightly less often this summer, perhaps one or two times a week rather than the two to four posts that are my norm.

A post with “Summertime” in the title is an easy excuse to serve up that George Gershwin classic, so here’s an incredible Ella Fitzgerald rendition that’s worth a few soothing minutes of your day.

Leave a Reply

