Labor Day 2014: It’s up to us

On this Labor Day 2014, here’s the basic, fundamental question for each of us:

“What will I do to nurture dignity, opportunity, and well-being in the workplace?”

The world of work needs a lot of improvement right now. Many readers understand this through their own work experiences. Others have witnessed friends and family members struggling with bad workplaces.

It’s up to us to create the changes we want to see. It can range from living up to the Golden Rule at work, to joining collective efforts to create better workplaces.

In any event, we must be the change agents. It won’t happen otherwise. It’s as easy and as challenging as that.

Of possible interest

“I want to help stop workplace bullying” (2014)

“Rebellious Lawyering” conference: Discussing origins and meaning of the intern rights movement (2014)

Intellectual activism and social change (2013)

Insiders, outsiders, and change agents (2013)

Setting agendas for positive social change (2013)

The social responsibilities of intellectuals at a time of extraordinary human need (2013)

10 ways to make a difference: Advice for change agents (2013)

What if we applied the Golden Rule at work? (2010)

Advice to Young (and Not So Young) Folks Who Want to Make a Difference (2009)

One response

  1. I have a question and would love to get ideas from others on this site. I am starting a job tomorrow as a playground supervisor. I heard that a lot of the children pick on others and bully. Bullying is not allowed at this school (grades 1-5) which is good. The girls that I am to work with, told me there are some autistic children and children who are from low income homes with parents who do not help them with their homework, or take an interest. I am thinking that I should nip the behavior on the playground or anywhere in the bud, and give the rules/talk to the children the first day on the playground. I am new and perhaps this is not my part. I am just wondering what to do or say if the kids do bully. We are not allowed to touch the children. If they start physical fighting, we have to call inside the school to get help. I feel I can relate to these children, because I had been bullied for 3 years, and I believe I learned a lot, just from belonging to this site. I bought a book for children that is about bullying. I believe it is called “Feet are not for Kicking”. I applied for a different job concerning domestic abuse and giving talks at schools. I had to pretend as if I were giving a talk to school children and used this book as an example. I was thinking of donating the book to the school; of perhaps they have it already. Just wondering if anyone has any tips of things I can to say, if I observe any bullying going on. I am the new person, just hired. There are 3 playground monitors. If the children knew that I was bullied as an adult in a job situation and how it affected me, I thought is might help? Then again, maybe I shouldn’t tell them? I told the Superintendent of the school that I am a bully advocate, as is he. I am hoping to somehow help with bullying at the school; perhaps a group? Children can learn from adults about bullying. I think it is good to nip it early, or these children will end up being adult bullies. Thanks ahead of time for any suggestions of how to handle a situation or what to say if this happens on the playground. I realize that children seem to be more talked about being protected from bullying, which is good, but adults know better and still do it. You can get a bully T-shirt at Younkers (I believe it is for children protection). Adults need to be there for the children to help them learn that bullying is wrong and very hurtful to another child or adult. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

