News of the day: How much do we need to know?

It starts to pile up!

Among my staples

How closely do we need to follow the news of the day? How much and what types of news should we be tracking in order to be informed citizens? How does general awareness of current events relate to our effectiveness in performing certain jobs?

Folks, I confess that I ponder these questions more often than the average bear.

As an academician and lifelong learning junkie, I read/review/skim a lot of news and commentary. The New York Times, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Economist, and Guardian get a lot of my attention. I like The Week for a quick flyover, AlterNet for progressive politics, and Business Week and Yahoo! Finance for business news. WBUR, the Boston NPR station, wakes me up in the morning. I also like a variety of general and specialized periodicals, with a nod to the Atlantic.

I still have plenty of print subscriptions, but like many I increasingly rely on the Internet. (I have many online subscriptions and make donations to favorite non-profit news sites, as I believe that good journalism and commentary should be compensated.)

As for television news, I largely skip it. The typical 11 p.m. local news show doesn’t do much for me. I have scant use for most cable news coverage as well. While many readers can probably guess that I’m not a fan of Fox News, I rarely watch the more liberal MSNBC, either.

In any event, with all these subscriptions and online bookmarks, I am not a master of the universe when it comes to current events. My understanding of domestic politics is far better than my grasp of international relations. With the latter, I’m much keener on making big picture historical connections than on being able to recite the latest goings on in the world’s hot spots.

Furthermore, I wrestle with a broader philosophical point: Knowledge is not wisdom. While ignorance is not wisdom, either, one can easily load up on facts and be short on understanding. Being able to tick off the day’s major news events does not substitute for that deeper comprehension.

On the whole, we Americans, especially, would benefit by having deeper knowledge and wisdom about history and current events. Our civic IQ is not very high, and our nation and world would be better places if we could improve it.

2 responses

  1. I watch TV news (1) on election night, (2) to track hurricanes bearing down on my home, and (3).. well, there is no (3). When i am at a hotel and *any* TV news station is on in a restaurant or lounge I may be in, i marvel at the banality and hysteria of the coverage. I read the Times. I read New Yorker. I read The Economist. I read other primary sources on line. I am very happy with my decisions. (One amendment: I watch ESPN so i get lotsa sports news there. But I don’t think that’s what u were referring to…)

Leave a Reply

