Freedom from Workplace Bullies Week: October 16-22, 2016

fw-2016

The Workplace Bullying Institute is once again inviting us to participate in the annual Freedom From Workplace Bullies Week, October 16-22:

Bullying is a systematic campaign of interpersonal destruction that jeopardizes your health, your career, the job you once loved. Bullying is a non-physical, non-homicidal form of violence. Because it is abusive it causes both emotional and stress-related physical harm.

Freedom from Bullies Week is a chance to break through the shame and silence surrounding bullying. It is a week to be daring and bold.

The power of workplace bullying is its ability to stay hidden in plain view. Make every workplace safe and take a stand against workplace bullying!

Here in Massachusetts, we’ve marked this week in different ways, including a small group workshop and a larger public forum. Others have done a major news conference and obtained Freedom Week proclamations from municipalities and counties, among other activities. I’ve also used this blog to spotlight the work of affiliated scholars, activists, and writers and to highlight ways in which people can stop workplace bullying

This year, my own efforts will be more task-oriented. As I’ve mentioned earlier, Dr. Maureen Duffy, one of the leading authorities on mobbing behaviors, invited me to join her as co-editor on an exciting book project on workplace bullying and mobbing. This two-volume book set will feature a comprehensive, multidisciplinary collection of chapters by leading and emerging U.S. experts on bullying and mobbing at work, with a focus on American employment relations. We’ll be hip deep in this work during October, as we strive to get the full manuscript to our publisher and work toward a 2017 publication date.

In addition, I’m taking an early look at preparing for the next round of public education activities on behalf of the Healthy Workplace Bill. We’ve made steady progress here in Massachusetts, but in order to turn the bill into a law, we need to take our efforts up to the next level for the 2017-18 legislative session. There’s very little substitute for that needed work.

It’s good that we have Freedom Week to shine a light on workplace bullying and the need to eradicate it. And the fact that we observe it every year is a reminder that we’re doing a marathon, not a sprint.

4 responses

  1. Thank you! Just finished over a year of pure hell–practically daily from a fellow nurse/my manager at a major healthcare company. Incredible. I badly needed the job and at 69 yo have not yet found another since being forced into quitting it.

  2. Check out my case against Dana Farber Cancer Institute, remained undecided at the highest Court in Massachusetts, the Supreme Judicial Court. In collusion with lower court judges:
    Aliana’s Case against Dana Farber Cancer Institute on the website: stopemployerbullying.org

  3. I hate my job. Every day I have IBS, before work, due to the bullying I get there. I used to be a normal, happy person. Now, I am obsessed by my tormentors, I go over what they said and did, and how completely powerless I am to their ongoing campaign of terror against me. I fantasize about terrible things, that would give them a feeling of what they have done to me. There seems to be a transitional period during bullying, where the victim, begins to think about extreme workplace violence, to end the pain. It is a precipice, suicide, homocide, seem like “reasonable” solutions to an impossible situation.

    Fortunately, I moved forward from those dark thoughts, and simply go to work daily, no longer concerned with their petty squabbles and minutiae. A shift of internal self esteem. The bullying no longer affects me, perhaps I have toughened up, due to the never ending barrage of insults and backstabbing I have endured. Workplace bullying as a method of discovering internal self esteem and strength.

    I am fortunate to have a wonderful, supportive family, that is my anchor.

Leave a Reply

