How do you take and keep notes?

photo-569

Janet uses a hardcover sketchbook for her notes.

Okay, dear readers — especially academicians, students, lifelong learners, frequent conference goers, and other “information society” folks — here’s my question: How do you take and keep notes?

This Way Out (1972), a classic early guidebook to non-traditional higher education by John Coyne and Tom Hebert, includes some marvelous chapters on lifelong learning skills and practices, pre-digital style. It says this about taking notes:

Make a decision now for life, just how you are going to keep your lecture and reading notes. We wish we had done this earlier so that we could have saved them. We’re always in situations where we take notes. Watching a TV discussion, public lectures, conversations. We have finally settled on 4-by-6 inch scratch pads, and yellow legal pads for interviews and long lectures. There must be better systems. One friend takes notes (any size), quotes and interesting miscellaneous Xeroxes, stapes them to 5-by-8 inch cards which he labels and keeps in a card file.

Of course, their note taking system is a blast from the past. The mere idea of recording notes onto paper is foreign to a lot of folks, especially in this digital age of tablets and software programs like Evernote and OneNote.

That said, I remain drawn to taking notes the old fashioned way. It is an aesthetic as well as educational preference.

For some reason, this topic has been on my mind recently. In a recent post I wrote about a fellow singing class student who keeps written notes on each voice class session. At annual board meetings and workshops of the Human Dignity and Humiliation Studies network in New York City, I’ve taken delight in watching peace educator Janet Gerson‘s use of hardcover sketchbooks to take and preserve her notes, as well as to host her artistic forays and distractions.

photo-568

And at times she goes artistic.

Alas, unlike Janet, and ignoring the sound advice of Mssrs. Coyne & Hebert, I have not developed a uniform personal note taking system. When I have my act together, I am biased toward Moleskine notebooks. But I also use other brands of notebooks and sketchbooks, my weekly (paper) calendar, scraps of paper, and yes, my computer and tablet. (Sidebar: Even Moleskine has bowed to technology, now offering a “Smart Writing System” that integrates paper and digital writing using a “paper tablet.”)

Individual preferences aside, for purposes of learning and retention, taking notes by hand may very well be more effective than typing them into a laptop or tablet, as suggested by a study published in the research journal of the Association for Psychological Science:

Dust off those Bic ballpoints and college-ruled notebooks — research shows that taking notes by hand is better than taking notes on a laptop for remembering conceptual information over the long term. The findings are published in Psychological Science, a journal of the Association for Psychological Science.

So, this is my gentle case for taking notes like some of us learned in grade school. Here’s to heading over to your local stationery or office supply store and picking up a notebook or sketchbook, along with a nice pen that makes writing a pleasure.

12 responses

  1. David,
    Try to integrate the word copious into your
    Next blog about notes. The words copious
    And notes just seem to flow together!
    Best,
    PG

  2. Action planner by Action Day! Check it out. Bound version big 8.5 x11 but stucture for appointments with room in back and front for drawings or notes for special projects. I take mine almost everwhere!

  3. I carry a pocket notebook with me to take random notes throughout the day, though I do just keep an online spreadsheet of to-do tasks which I just update as things come to mind on my smartphone.

    For longer notes, such as during meetings or if I’m studying something, I personally use a clipboard with just some college ruled paper on it, for quick writing, then I transfer those to a computer for long term storage (I can’t trust myself to be able to read my handwriting in year!). I am starting to try the Cornell Notes Method of taking notes now to attempt to better organize my notes while I take them so they’re less gibberish.

  4. This is a fabulous example of creativity and intellectual productivity!! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this, dear David and Janet!

  5. I still take pen and pencil notes on consulting assignments, meetings, and (of course) for client contacts (psychotherapy). I have my lecture notes in the form of Power Point presentations.

Leave a Reply

